Sickness


Listening to: ­Love you to by The Beatles.

Was going through my previous posts. The ones I wrote when I started blogging. And the ones I’ve written recently. The degradation is obvious. My writing has lost the passion and the angst that made it what it was. I don’t anymore feel what I write. And re-reading the later posts is almost impossible.
No, I don’t say I’ve taken to writing to just keep the boredom away, or to fill space. It is just the stagnation I’m undergoing that shows in my writing.
I have no one to blame but me. I’ve stopped having a perspective on things that go on around me. I blindly look up to editorials and columns for perspective. In short, I don’t have anything much to say about the world around me.
I don’t anymore write what I feel, either. Staying in this place has hardened my exterior to such an extent that I barely know what I feel. My sense of humor has taken second place to my sense of rumor. All I come up with are clichés and borrowed thoughts.
All I want to do now is to regain my sense of self, get in touch with my real thoughts and feelings and at the same time, not block out the rest of the world, but to take it all in and make sense of it.

I’M GOING HOME!!!

Epilogue: I haven’t been home for months. And I don’t think I can go home till May 10th the very least. It isn’t pleasant anymore here, being in the thick of intellectual stagnation.
All I need is a place to dust the cobwebs in my head, where I have unrestricted access to the idiot box, can read the newspaper for as long as I wish, debate on newspaper reports for hours on end, and have food so good that its warmth floods me, coaxing me gently to take yet another helping.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Priya's Travails, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sickness

  1. aJ says:

    I think your posts are quite good and intellectual.. Sometimes go over my head which though is quite easy 😉

    Can’t you go home for a weekend? I mean may 10th is a month away!

  2. Priya says:

    that’s the point…. they arent supposed to go over your head.

  3. randomwalker says:

    I sincerely appreciate all the effort you put into making thy posts so sarcastic… Or does the sarasm come out naturally??!!… Anyway,I just can’t seem to get enough of sarcasm these days…

    Go home and enjoy the goodies that u’ve mentioned in the epilogue.. should do you a world of good..:)

  4. aJ says:

    Well them goingover my head be my fault seeing that I’m below average IQ and more than dense at the top floor 😉

  5. Priya says:

    yeah rite, dont give me that trash.

  6. insane_wacko says:

    @ Numbskulls

    I’ve been a reader of your blog since a while now, and its one of the few that I think really makes for good reading at the end of a hard day’s work. About the degradation in quality, I don’t think its anything to get worried about .. Writing habits are prone to change with time and tide .. But do keep blogging away .. its a good habit …

    Cheers
    wacko

  7. CB says:

    Hmmm. I feel your writing style has not changed. If anything’s changed , it’s the density of your posts, if you know what I mean. Posts that are ‘dense’ come from the gut, of what you feel, or experience, or wonder.

  8. aJ says:

    Trash? Seriously, it’s true!

  9. this one has all the feeling that u have written about… but since we’re are prone to making judgements too easily, we don’t look at the obvious too often.

  10. Anonymous says:

    The ones I wrote when I started blogging. And the ones I’ve written recently. The degradation is obvious.
    Yes I agree. It’s gotten worse.

    And re-reading the later posts is almost impossible.
    For most others, it is impossible the first time around.

    In short, I don’t have anything much to say about the world around me.
    Thank god. We really dont want to hear them.

    Staying in this place has hardened my exterior to such an extent that I barely know what I feel.
    Would you, by chance, feel a bullet through your thick brain???

    My sense of humor has taken second place to my sense of rumor.
    I hope you mean ‘second place relative to your sense of rumor’. Because, your sense of humor is about as interesting as dog turd…

    I’M GOING HOME!!!
    Appreciate, if you stayed there. Forever. Spare us!

    All I need is a place to dust the cobwebs in my head
    Err…You have a head?

  11. its wonderful tht u realise tht u r stagnating (i don’t think anyone other than urself can be a judge of tht)

    Diagnosis is half-cure. and u know the treatment too… so its just a matter of time. May 10 isn’t too far. good luck.

    btw, i think ur views on politics were pretty incisive. i tend to think on my feet and keep my views pretty dynamic. and ur comments have helped me refine my perspective. thanks.

  12. hey priya!!!
    is tis a kinda self contentment write-up…fyne all tat i could tell u is ” go clean ur cob webs” and don let ur rumour sense go down .they characterize u(the category!got it)

  13. Priya says:

    @anon:
    line-by-line backanswers…. grow up, man.
    @dushyanth:
    whatever the last bit meant….

  14. CB says:

    Dushyanth
    Agreer with priya.
    whatever that last bit meant.

  15. Anonymous says:

    Yes. Line by line. It’s fun. You write tripe and it is indeed a pleasure to sit and point it out. Line by Line.

  16. Anjaan says:

    What a Song! I love em little Bugs!

  17. Priya says:

    yea, timeless music sorts. what say?

  18. capitalise on grape vine! tis is all i meant.
    btw priya “i never knew tat u were a triple refined pazham”??.(i knew karthik was :P)

  19. Priya says:

    what on earth is a triple refined pazham now?

  20. Ola priya. Same case here…Can’t wait to get home 😦

  21. Ave Caeserette!
    Or should I refrain from that?
    No. I shouldn’t say that you have degraded thaaat much. Yeah, a little, but not too much. Whens your next post?

  22. CB says:

    what?!
    You fix your dates of posting?!
    :O :O :O :O :O
    (I guess you meant your term’s getting over that day, so..)

  23. BTW u r 2 busy durin endsems tat u don post huh??

  24. @archie@ says:

    i can quite well identify wid the thought there!!!!

  25. May 10th is here and I am guessing you are enjoying the thought of spending time home. Have fun.–>

  26. Pingback: If a body catch a body... « The NITK Numbskulls Page

Leave a Reply

