Nonsense, and other kinds of verse


A few months back, I was looking for a poem by Ogden Nash, which I’d come across in class 6. It wasn’t on any Ogden Nash site [it wasn’t originally by him, or something like that, I later gathered], and after much haranguing on the net, I found it on some blog. Phew! That took a lot of effort, and it worked only because I remembered a few lines from that bit of nonsense verse.

So, well, we’re building a repository of lighthearted verse on this site. And here it is:

Nonsense, and other kinds of verse

No, this is not a platform for us or anyone we know to exhibit their supposedly funny lines [the blog part of the subdomain is for that], but it’s a collection of well-known, or not-so-well-known nonsense verse, or other sorts of lighthearted verse. Names banned there include Neruda, Longfellow, Tennyson, Yeats, Lord Byron, Milton and similar writers of stuff that takes more time to read than write.

Keep checking this page, there’ll be more and more added in the future. And you can help too. Mail one of us [or you can comment on this post if you don’t know us] any bit of lighthearted verse you have/find, which you think will fit into the scheme of things on this repository.

Here’s what we have:

  1. “The Muddlehead”, Ogden Nash
  2. “Jabberwocky”, by Lewis Caroll
  3. “To My Valentine”, Ogden Nash
  4. “ONW – Omit Needless Words”, Will Strunk
  5. “Verses to exhaust my stock of four-letter words” by George Starbuck

This list is updated as and when we find something new. And we’re looking for more. Once again, mail us, or comment on this post with any bit of nonsense verse you might find.

*To more litterature!*

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in verse, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nonsense, and other kinds of verse

  1. Dushy says:

    Whoa! Good one.:)
    Priya,I remember Suhasini Ma’am teaching this poem.The poem sounded much pretty from her lips.I guess ,the poem had a pic of a boy with a pan on his head.
    I am missing literature in Coll.Sheeshh!

  2. cb says:

    jabberwocky rocks!
    How I wish I could write like that! 😀

  3. wanderlust says:

    @dushy:
    yep, the very same.. i remember we were all laughing our heads off that day. wow, you remember!!
    @cb:
    that’s the max amount of nonsense that has made total sense to me.. i mean, it doesnt even matter that the words dont exist!

  4. rand0mwalker says:

    There’s a poem “To My Valentine”
    I wanna try it out this time,
    If my Valentine likes it,
    I’ll pour myself a bucket of wine;
    And raise a toast – To my Valentine.

    Why do I ever think of those self-goals?!

  5. wanderlust says:

    hope she likes it, then!

  6. anon. says:

    hi
    nice. i came across ur blog by chance. and now i have finished reading all your posts. very few blogs have interested me so much as this one. anyway this is the piece that i liked most:

    “And I’ve also discovered that the best writing comes from deep within, and comes only when you are actually strongly feeling what you’re writing. Maybe that is coz it adds believability and hence, life to your words.”

Leave a Reply

