Song Stuck In My Head


Rash of that happening since Friday. I’ll probably do a more elaborate post as soon as I can. This is a placeholder… if I mark this a ‘draft’, it’ll never get done. Watch this space. And if you’re reading this from a feed aggregator, mark it ‘unread’.

I thought this will be the history of random lyrics you’ll find scribbled on desks at NITK… but I’ve lost track of what I wanted to write. So I’m just having you know that if you find seemingly random lyrics scribbled on a desk at NITK, you know who it’s by. And you can compliment the neat handwriting on the comments section.

I also thought I’d do an analysis of the catchiness of certain songs, but sadly now they are well out of my head and now I don’t know what the fuss was all about that I really badly wanted to write this post.

For the time capsule – the songs stuck in my head were Ragasiyamaai from the Madhavan-Jyotika starrer Dumm Dumm Dumm, Signore Signore from the Madhavan-Simran-Keerthana starrer Kannathil Muthamittaal, the title track from the Madhavan-unknownWoman starrer Jay Jay, Kadhal Sadugudu from the Madhavan-Shalini starrer Alaipayuthey, apart from the classical track Alaipayuthey renderd by Sudha Raghunathan… Oh pray, tell me why these! I don’t particularly find these lyrics meaningful or the songs melodious. And anyway if those were the criteria, there are many others which are decidedly much better!

I don’t anymore desecrate public property, mainly because I don’t anymore study in a Government college with wooden benches that are just right for scribbling on with a ball/gel pen. So… well.. I’m just scribbling the first random lyric that comes to my mind right here. And in keeping with the pleasant weather outside, it’s Parikrama’s Open Skies. It’s mainly instru, except for these lyrics in the beginning… it’s something like an ode to a nice day.

Wind blows through my hair
Right in the morning sun
And the breeze just passin’ by,
Oh, free as a bird
Moonlight in my eyes
And stars to fill my dreams
That’s the way I wanna be
Clear blue skies

Oh, and for some reason I like this random quote I came across “It feels like Deja Vu all over again”. I like the self-reference here… just like “If Murphy’s Law can go wrong, it will”.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Flashback, Music, NITK Nostalgia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Song Stuck In My Head

  1. harish says:

    I don’t know the meaning of the Alaipayuthey lyrics. But it certainly is melodious. Classical ARR. Isn’t it?

  2. wanderlust says:

    alaipayuthey is a classical song about lord krishna. You can find the meaning etc here..

  3. ego says:

    Alaipayuthey is a beautiful song. I even like the title track from Kannathil Muthamittaal. I find the refrain very catchy.

  4. harish says:

    Kannathil Muthamittaal alli ‘Vellai Pookal’ and title track biTTre mikkiddu ashten chennaagi irlilla. And also ‘Vidai Kodu’ one. So that’s three out of 5 songs. Sort of contradicting myself. 🙂

  5. wanderlust says:

    acshelly i felt signore signore was the best song in the album. Rest of them, though were really nice to listen to, didn’t have the freshness of this song. it has a really awesome folksy feel, uncomplicated lyrics… and a lovable picture of the sinhalese romeo painted by the lyrics – he goes from wooing the indian lady and suggesting ‘kadaloram kai-koathu pogalaam vaa di” to “thavaripochu thavaripochu enn thangachi/machaana-dhaan kaettadhaaga sollu, thangachi”, after she tells him “angae nillu, ennoda purushana kootitu vaaren”.
    when you compare it with the deep context of the whole movie, this lighthearted song (which thankfully is just background music in the movie and doesn’t have a video) stands out to impress.

  6. Tuna Fish says:

    Talking about writing on desks, Ive drawn a Mickey Mouse on every bench Ive sat on (except the new ones they gave in final year)

Leave a Reply

