Posts I want to write… and Open Thread


I’m hard-pressed for time now. Actually no. I can surely make time for blogging. But then I choose not to owing to a few reasons… including my extreme lethargy.

Anyways… here are post ideas that occur to me, and which I hope to finish writing and publish here soon.

  • I hate AR Rehman. Not really, but I’m appalled at the low number of results for that particular search string. Frankly… it’s impossible someone can be so well-loved. I seek to correct that wrong as soon as possible.
  • How tired I am of the entire ‘Battle of the Sexes’ business.
  • NITK’s Sixth Annual Convocation. This I simply HAVE to write.
  • Catchy music of the ’90s.
  • Rockford. The coming-of-age movie by Nagesh Kukunoor. I so love it.
  • Wasting time on the Internet. No, I’m not going to be glorifying it.
  • India might soon face an Emergency.
  • Help! I’m developing a Tam accent of late!
  • Is Google Reader taking my chat history into account while recommending me feeds?

And I’ve seen blogposts called Open Posts or whatever, where the author invites the readers to share whatever their impressions about the blog are etc etc, so I thought why not put that here.

So… feel free to tell me in the comments section what you like about this blog, what you don’t like about this blog, what content I should write more about, what I should begin writing about, what I should quit writing about. And whether you subscribe to my blog, and if so, since when.

And lurkers… this is your chance to de-lurk.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Posts I want to write… and Open Thread

  1. karthik says:

    Subscribed since Sep 2007- or Aug, maybe.

    The posts on books (and book writing), Bangalore (BMTC and random encounters), and a few other funny (clever) ones made for great timepass. Never got around to reading the rest.

    “…what content I should write more about, what I should begin writing about, what I should quit writing about.”

    Does it matter? Your blog, you (plural) can write about anything you want, no?

  2. ego says:

    1) A R Rahman: 7,700,000, Your’s truly: 32,700. I get your point.
    2) Without the context at hand, I have absolutely no clue what you’re talking about, but would love to hear about it!
    3) That’s the post I was expecting, and instead I was given an open thread!
    4) But you already did!
    5) Yeah, awesome movie! And to top it, the Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy’s song, Aasman ke Paar Shaayad, Aur koi Aasman hoga.. . Perfect.
    6) I have been addicted to the feeds in my google reader. So much that I have started polling for new posts now. Agree, most of it is absolute time-waste.
    7) Yeah, I Know…. The person who was pretty much a lieutenant during the previous emergency is kinda touted to be the next CEC. SAD.
    8) Can’t notice that here 🙂
    9) Or probably you chat about the same things as what you and your friends read/share 🙂

    BTW, me no lurker 🙂

  3. sindhu says:

    am looking forward to reading about catchy music of the 90s cause i they were sure “sporty” in flavor, example : gala – faraway (http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=EU39U219_Zo)

  4. wanderlust says:

    @karthik:
    >>you (plural) can write about anything you want, no?
    Yeah. that leaves me spoilt for choice. Need to narrow it down a bit. and i suppose knowing what people like to read might help with prioritization.
    @ego:
    1. Im surprised there’s virtually no one who’s ripping AR Rehman’s bad music apart. Not all his soundtracks are pure gold.
    2. I notice when there’s a mixed group of girls and guys, there tends to be ‘guys are better no girls are better’ sort of arguments. im sick to dying of these. and one more time i hear ‘i dont understand you girls only… what is your fixation with makeup, ya? why you people don’t like to watch F1 ya?’ I swear I’m going to scream.
    4. that was indipop. i want to do one about bollywood music, coz of late the newer songs made me realize the freshness and originality of these gems from jatin-lalit and anu malik.
    9. no… it recommends me feeds based on the geographical location of the folks i chat with. that’s the scary bit.
    @sindhu:
    so sorry… but it will include only hits like ‘musu musu haasi’ or ‘ankhiyaan tu mila’.

  5. Makam says:

    More sarcastic posts?

    -long time lurker!

  6. sg says:

    am i a lurker 😀
    b/w a post about posts reminds me of when i was supposed give a 10 min talk and i thought i’ll give a talk about how i ended up getting lost in the myriad of topics i wanted to talk about! makes sense? 😀

  7. Tuna Fish says:

    Herd Mentallity, Pop Culture and beyond 😛

  8. AJ says:

    How will India face an emergency? In what form?

  9. wanderlust says:

    @sg:
    no, just a shirker 😛
    just kidding.
    while that wasn’t the way this post was written, yes, i do remember something like that.
    @tuna fish:
    and also more posts from fish.
    @AJ:
    internal emergency. just like in the ’70s.

  10. Tuna Fish says:

    In some time. I will. I will

  11. sg says:

    @tuna Public Demand 🙂

  12. Shreevatsa says:

    I don’t remember when exactly I discovered this blog, but I instantly loved its brilliant writing and started reading it. I think I’ve been actually *subscribed* only since about November, but looking at the archives I find I’ve read most posts since late 2007, and a few ones much older. [Also don’t remember if this was among the 140-odd subscriptions I deleted in April, in an attempt to avoid wasting time on the internet, the subject of your eagerly awaited future post. :)]

    Most things are great, there is nothing you should stop writing about, and your daily-life narratives (BMTC, Luchi,…) are the most entertaining. [I realise that might sound disappointing, if what you want to write about are timeless truths and what get appreciated instead are piddling trifles, so I must hastily add that the rest of it is very good too. :)]

    I’m also a bit unsure how appropriate it is to comment on this blog sometimes, given that I don’t actually know you 🙂

  13. wanderlust says:

    @shreevatsa:
    if i’ve blogged about it, and not closed the comments section, or password protected the post, it means it’s open for public discussion. meaning anyone can comment.

Leave a Reply

