Dear Departed


Have you ever had something with you, so close that you never noticed it? Something whose value you realize just when you have had lost it? I never thought this would be the case, but yes, the loss of my backpack, forgotten on a train, is causing me enough trauma, that I need to write about it.

I bought it just before I entered undergrad in NITK, mostly because it was different from the black ones I had till then.  A khakhi colored chic bag with leather trimmings. With only one huge compartment. One smaller in the front. And a few side pockets. Pull the string to close it. And flip the flap to cover that. Now I realize there was a pocket on the flap that I never used.

A bag for all occasions. To the class, even when I had to take one book. On treks and long trips, as a suitcase. My laptop bag. The bag for shopping. Something that went with every clothing.

My favourite one till now, not even my Winnie the Pooh high school bag can beat it.

I miss the feel of its straps on my shoulders. Its eternal presence on my table. The fact that I dont have that place where I put everything that I dont want to forget. To tune out of where and what to put in it every morning, Im finding that tough.

I lost more stuff, my shoes, and a brand new pair of jeans, many more along with it. But that doesnt seem to bother me.

But bag, wherever you are, RIP.

About Tuna Fish

Not one more of these again!!!
This entry was posted in Flashback and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Departed

  1. Shreevatsa says:

    Seems pretty harsh to end with “RIP.” 🙂

  2. sindhu says:

    I understand your plight. I sincerely hope that soon it finds its way back to you.

  3. Tuna Fish says:

    @ shreevatsa
    I dont want anyone else to use it 😛
    @ sindhu
    Fat chance, that!

  4. Nitin says:

    Sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

