Twenty-five Random things about me you probably didn’t know…


…And probably didn’t care about. But here it is. I don’t know what to write – about suggestions for marketing Rahul Gandhi election posters (Single, half-Italian, with dimples)? Or a collection of anti-Slumdog outpourings? Or Rehman-vs-Ilayaraja? Or how totally awesome I found the opening scene of Guddi? The answer is none of the above. I’m feeling extremely self-indulgent, so here goes.

  1. I work well both in the early morning as well as late at night. Or make that can-stay-awake.
  2. I remember insane little details about people which they themselves don’t notice or care enough about to remember.
  3. And yet, I forget what you said two minutes back.
  4. I have talons.
  5. I think Python’s the best language in the world, never mind its weakly typedness. That said, I seem to like Not The Nine O’Clock News better than Monty Python.
  6. I have a knack of digging up embarassing stuff about people.
  7. I love attempting image quizzes using nothing but the Internet.
  8. My favourite sort of quiz questions are those which sound obscure but have as their answer a relatively common name/place/animal/thing as the answer… the sort of answer which has you going ‘ohhhhhhhhhhhh’ when you hear it. I find them very entertaining when posed in those quizzes that attract hordes of spectators.
  9. Contrary to popular perception, I don’t think hard rock/heavy metal is the best/only music in the world. I’m crazy-as-hell about retro, Great American Songbook, Carnatic…. and I don’t much like Hindustani. I worship The Beatles, Dylan, Queen and Ella Fitzgerald. And my favourite Beatle is George Harrison. I hate Lennon. Especially for what he did to Cynthia and Julian. That said, I thought Cynthia Lennon’s book on her travails was a sad attempt at writing.
  10. I wanted to dye my hair a violent shade of pink or purple. I had to drop the idea due to the hard water of NITK Hostels.
  11. I think too much about most things in life. Nothing escapes my extreme dissection.
  12. Due to which I’m a very paranoid person.
  13. Though I’m not very good at it, I’m rather proud of my freestyle.
  14. It occasionally happens that when I suddenly remember a song I haven’t listened to in ages, within a day or two, I get to listen to it in some way or the other [which doesn’t involve me looking for the track and playing it]. Or, someone mentions that track in conversation and says it’s been ages since we listened to it, hasn’t it?
  15. I read and re-read old issues of Tinkle. I never get bored.
  16. I read and re-read older issues of Readers’ Digest. I never get bored.
  17. I don’t think (self)declarations of genius are license to be rude and condescending.
  18. When I say something, I strive to be as complete and logical as is humanly possible in constructing my arguments and in putting it across in a way the other person will understand. It is quite a different matter I don’t succeed at times.
  19. I cannot write fiction for nuts. My story construction might be excellent if at all, and my choice of words great, but I can never get the correct level of detail to go into. So my first paragraphs are always full of insane detail, reading which I get bored and quit writing that piece.
  20. I can at times get totally lost in conversation. A few readers might remember an unnecessary pre-dinner walk in Mangalore in my final year.
  21. In total contrast to what I was like at college, I actually like an orderly life with a fixed routine. And clean surroundings.
  22. In total contrast to what I might come across as, I’m no feminist.
  23. When people ask me about my seemingly irrational behaviour, I more often than not seem to be citing Life at NITK as one of the chief reasons behind that behaviour. Like… “You listen to music while you work?’  ‘Yeah…. one of those habits I developed at NITK when I wanted to block out all distractions’.
  24. I get irritated by a lot of things. Fake accents are one of them. Ill-constructed arguments are another.
  25. And I don’t think any self-description can ever be complete or accurate. What I notice about most people is that whatever is said about them, more often than not, even the opposite is true.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Twenty-five Random things about me you probably didn’t know…

  1. Shreevatsa says:

    5: Python is strongly typed! It’s my favourite language too. (Although Haskell is rather special…) And Not The Nine O’Clock News (or Fry and Laurie, or much of the genre) would not have existed without Python, of course.

    14 (“Synchronicity”): It happens to all of us! But see Littlewood’s law. 🙂

  2. harish says:

    Not the Nine’O Clock News better than Monty Python? Didn’t have as much variety as Monty Python had. The Pythons have done almost everything from some of the best absurdist humour to satire. Maybe I am biased, maybe not.

  3. priya says:

    @shreevatsa:
    got a tad confused about the definition of typedness wrt python. thanks.
    @harish:
    i never mentioned about one being better than the other… just that i like not the nine o’clock news better than i like monty python.
    just like i like main hoon na better than chiriyakhana.

  4. sg says:

    what’s with everyone, telling around 25 random things abt themselves, as if others are interested 😛
    nice posts though, keep them coming 🙂

  5. Tuna Fish says:

    Supposedly, its not the pigments that give color to a peacock’s feathers.. Its made of submicron sized capillaries. The colors are due to interference effects!

  6. wanderlust says:

    @sg:
    i suppose you know enough to write fifty more things about me others probably didnt know. and didn’t care about 🙂
    @tuna fish:
    this is w.r.t the point about dying my hair?

  7. Kripal says:

    Hmmm… I thought this was limited to Facebook. But then again, lots of things I didn’t know about you coming through in this post. Do I care about it? Hmmm……

  8. sg says:

    Sure can! My bad luck 😛
    @Tuna what’s up with trivia 😀

  9. Tuna Fish says:

    @sg
    a sad attempt for point eight 😛

Leave a Reply

