It’s a mad, mad, mad world


The past twenty-four hours seem to have been filled with absurdity upon absurdity.

Right in the morning, I find a dog ran away with my shoe. I spent the rest of the morning hunting the gutters and empty sites to see if the dog had hidden it there. No luck.

So I picked a pair of my sister’s which looked rather new. After walking for ten minutes, I realized why they were so new… they BITE!

Earlier in the morning, I discovered that making kosambari is pretty demanding – a cucumbersome task.

And then I find this colleague swiping his access card, pulling the door, swiping his card, lather rinse repeat.. to no avail. The door wasn’t opening. I wanted to step out, and so I walked up to the door. I smiled at him and pointed to the sign on the door in big friendly letters that said “Push’.

“Oh, sorry”, he told me. “Why are you saying sorry to me?”, I asked. “Whoops, sorry”, he said to me. And then absent-mindedly turned to the door and said sorry to it.

And then there was this guy who got a call, which he answered saying “Please call me later… battery’s low”. The person on the other end couldn’t hear what he said, and called him back again and again to find out what is that he was hollering. Until, of course, the battery died.

I saw this magnificent hound dog and thought it’d photograph well. It’s another matter there was insufficient light and the dog wasn’t cooperating and would possibly have bitten me if the owner hadn’t pulled it back in time. The moment I put the cellphone camera away, the dog calmed down and even offered a paw. “What’s your name?”, I asked the dog, while petting it (FWIW it sounded more like “wosshyurnayme, deah?”). The owner replied, “Gopalakrishna Rao”.

Oh, and someone from the Tamizh heartland told me I speak Tamil like a *shudder* North Indian. I should have killed her, or maybe, like the venerable Mr. Arjun Sharma suggested, I should have said ‘Yaazhpaanam’. But then, given my northie Tamil (pronounced टमील), both would mean the same.

And to end the day, I come across this doctor’s clinic which is named “An Apple A Day”. Draw your own conclusions.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Attempts at Humour. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s a mad, mad, mad world

  1. ego says:

    “An Apple a Day” ?! Heh!! May be the Doctor works from home 😀

  2. Swati says:

    Did you get up on the wrong side of your bed..??!!:P

  3. Srikanth says:

    “cucumbersome” hahaha! Nice 🙂

  4. sg says:

    Need some tips on both time-management and writing, how can you write such hilarious posts 🙂

  5. wanderlust says:

    @ego:
    lol
    @swati:
    nah, this feels right… these totally made my day today.
    @srikanth:
    thanks
    @sg:
    today was a good day… that’s about it.
    and time management…. lady, after living with me for so long, you shouldn’t be saying this.

  6. Nitin says:

    Funniest post I’ve read in a long time!

  7. Firstly, I think you missed out one mad in the title 🙂 ..but of course..bloggetic license et al
    Secondly, I think Gopalakrishna Rao is a darn good name for a dog… Esp if it were a phaRAOh Hound 🙂

Leave a Reply

