Yet another new beginning


There’s always something we want to change about ourselves or our lifestyles. But it’s not just any day when you decide to make a huge list of changes.

And that’s where I’m rather glad I live in India.

New Years are always the time for a fresh set of resolutions and for return of determination to try follow a set of rigid rules.

I celebrate three New Years at last count now – the Gregorian, the Lunar New Year on Ugadi and the Solar New Year on Vishu/Varsha Pirappu. That should ideally boost my resolve and all that…. but, well…..

You can see the state of my resolve to follow resolutions on my photoblog which hasn’t been updated in months now [I had resolved to upload one pic a day]. But it’s not entirely my fault… I’ve been caught up in so hectic a schedule that I leave home in a hurry and come back well after the streets are empty and devoid of subjects friendly enough to be photographed and when lighting conditions are at their most pathetic. And the time in-between is spent in a camera-free zone, don’t ask me more on that. Maybe I should use weekends, but gah! I had to follow the same schedule on weekends too!

Seriously, what do I do? I don’t feel good about shelving such a good initiative.

Maybe I should also begin to celebrate Gujarati New Year that occurs during Diwali? (Though I’d never celebrate New Year on Pongal day and play right into the hands of that cunning dictator Karunanidhi).

Here’s wishing everyone a very happy Varsha Pirappu: இனிய தமிழ் புத்தாண்டு நல்வாழ்த்துக்கள் (pardon my spelling, if it’s wrong…. I used Google Transliterate, and I have no clue about how to spell things correctly in தமிழ).

PS: In less than a month, this blog turns four, and this author twenty-two…. more occasions for resolutions?

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Photography, Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yet another new beginning

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog, read this post, and truly enjoyed. So close, but so far away… And the beauty in three New Years, three new beginnings, three opportunities. I look forward to reading more…

  2. Break free of all conventions . Any day can be New Year’s Day. In fact my New Year starts on the first day of the Year that I visit the gym. (You know, to keep up the resolutions and stuff, usually sometime in September 🙂

  3. wanderlust says:

    @manish:
    yeah, i’ve been through all the ‘today is the first day of the rest of your life’ routine.
    I find it’s better to begin following resolutions on one of those commemorative days… gives a sense of meaning to the whole deal. especially if it’s nothing urgent i want to begin doing.

  4. sg says:

    trying to remind people something 😉 too bad 😛

Leave a Reply

