Blush.


There are times when I splurge, and there are times when I’m rather…. economical. I’m not ashamed of exhibiting the latter behaviour, and successfully ignore stares from rude waiters when I do not tip, or bookstore owners when they say “Thisees naat ye library”.

But occasionally, I do end up blushing. Like today.

Usual bookstore whose owner doesn’t quite mind me finishing the pulp-fic pop-lit in the store. Not when I actually do buy more durable tomes from him with amazing regularity.

I came across one of those tiny books which give you daily predictions for a whole year, based on your Sun sign. Found the right one. Found it was cellotaped shut.

Now I had no intention of buying that book, given one-third of the year is done. But I wanted to test the accuracy of the damn thing. Just like I read the day’s forecast after I am done for the day.

So since the cellotape was only around the middle of the book, I tried peering through the ends of the book, for one specific date to check if the book was on track there. Feb 10, Feb 14, Feb 15…. and I see the proprietor giving me a look.

I tried giving my best ‘Well, you caught me with my hand in the cookie jar for the gazillionth time since I was four years old, now what?’ look, but he just smiled and said

That’s not for Taurus, that’s for Aries

Whoops.

This is what happens when you’ve been going to the same bookstore since before you learned to read.

PS: I find in most stores that such books are present for all the sun signs with the exeption of Taurus… why? Is there more demand for these books among Taureans?

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Bangalore, Priya's Travails, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blush.

  1. sg says:

    to ur ques, u shud know better ๐Ÿ˜›
    *hilarious*

  2. karthik says:

    That made me smile.

    When I hear accounts (in fiction or real life) of vendors and shop keepers who tip their hat, holler greetings, and inquire about the loved ones of their “regulars”- and involve themselves in the lives of their long standing customers to astonishing degrees, I can’t help but feel a pang of jealousy.

    Having never stayed at one place for more than a couple of years, I would wager that an occasion such as this called for a wide grin of acknowledgment, not blushing. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

