100ft NH-17


Little sleep. Tiring day. Hour-long ride home.

So the moment I got into the volvo that’d take me home, I went to the first available seat and proceeded to grab some shut-eye. I pride myself on sharing one trait with Masai warriors. Sadly, it’s not their height. It’s their ability to sleep and wake at will. Okay, make that half a trait… I can go to sleep at will.

Soon, two girls sat opposite me, and a man in the seat next to mine. I barely registered their presence as they kept talking. The conductor came around after quite a while, when I was just about awake thanks to the incessant conversation that I think was about their siblings’ weddings or something.

“Where to?”, the conductor asked. “Udupi Garden”*, said the two girls. “Udupi”, said the man.

“And you?”, he asked me, while one girl made an effort to nudge me awake.

With great effort, I turned around and said “KREC Guest House”**.

*Name of stop in BTM Layout, Bangalore, on the ring road.
**Name of stop closest to Girls Block at NITK

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Attempts at Humour, Bangalore, NITK Nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 100ft NH-17

  1. Shruthi says:

    Lol 🙂 Too funny!!

  2. Shreevatsa says:

    Heh. Habit… I once boarded my usual Chennai-Bangalore train even though my ticket was on another one.

    Lol at the “half a trait”. 🙂
    (BTW, as far as I’ve been able to determine, the bit about the Ma(a)sai is something our good friend Dan Brown made up; it doesn’t occur anywhere in the literature. Why did he pick Masai? Because apparently he claims to have spent some time with them.)

    • wanderlust says:

      oh bloody hell, you’re right! i’m amazed at the source-hiding my brain did on that piece of ‘fact’. i totally forgot i knew this from no source other than dan brown.

  3. sg says:

    lol and nostalgia at the same time 😐

  4. harish says:

    …and the NITK nostalgia continues…

    namma LKA avaa ’emergency’ nostalgia tara.. 😛

  5. vikrams3 says:

    as they say, old habits die hard!

  6. Aham bho Arjunaha! says:

    Udupi Garden

Leave a Reply

