How Wanderlust got WordPressed, Distressed, and got her WordPress Account Back


I had been maintaining a rather quiet existence when all of a sudden, on Thursday, people were pinging me asking what I did this time to violate the WordPress.com Terms of Service. This very neatly escaped my notice as I was away assaulting the tastebuds of my roommates with some concoction that resulted from a cooker, some vegetables and some rice. To top it, Windows had installed updates and thus autorestarted my system. I never got to see those pings.

And then there was this offliner from my mother asking me to buck up and not just lose it and go offline, I can always create a new blog, can’t I?

I tried accessing my blog. And was informed that This blog has been archived or suspended for a violation of our Terms of Service.

And not only that. My WordPress.com account had been suspended. So all my blogs had been ‘archived or suspended for a violation of Terms of Service”.

I tried to remember what exactly I might have done that might result in something like this. Surely I had not done anything like last time. I tried going through the Terms of Service. Apparently I was responsible for my account not being compromised. Suddenly I had grand delusions of my eighty-four-character specially-chosen password being cracked by a spammer and this page being used as a spam location.

Tuna gave me this link, and I reported that this blog, my photoblog, my jokes blog and my cs blog were wrongly believed to violate the Terms of Service, and I asked for an explanation.

A couple of hours later, I got a reply from WordPress saying

Hi,

Sorry for the mixup.  I’ve restored your blogs.

All my blogs were back, save this one. Oh Hell!! I went back to the form. Some more time later, I got another reply saying

Hi,
My apologies – the system should not have done that.

I have removed the warning and I am sorry for the concern it caused.

Fine.

And then just as I was thinking of posting this entire story, my WordPress account was suspended Yet Again. Back to the forms.

This time it was

Hi,
I am really really sorry. Some new code has caused this, it was not someone reporting or looking at the blog. It was automated and completely wrong.
It cannot happen again now, it really can’t.

I am very sorry for the problem and for annoying you so much – that’s the last thing we would want.

And this time, only NITK Numbskulls was back. The others weren’t. Forms, again.

Hi,
I am really sorry for that happening – I cannot see why yet but I can assure you it will not happen again.
The blogs are back just as you left them and I very much apologise for the trouble we caused you.

Oh God. Finally, everything is back as it was. Thanks everyone for pinging, for bearing with me.

I wonder what bit of code caused that. How do you automate suspension of blogs for violation of terms of service other than those related to spam?

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Priya's Travails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How Wanderlust got WordPressed, Distressed, and got her WordPress Account Back

  1. Logik says:

    And my chief concern, apart from the maniacal automated code going loose.

    WHY do you run windows on a mac?

  2. arun says:

    Just a suggestion.. why don’t you use something like winhttrack or something and have an offline copy of your blog so that even if you do lose your blog, you won’t lose everything.

  3. theG says:

    here is my theory. you wrote something, they got offended. it would never have happened in the first place had you used say rot13 to encrypt your posts. they would never have had to read your posts to get offended, and others could just have read the translation in two clicks (i was given that statistic the other day!).

  4. Mahesh says:

    Hang on – now this is an achievement to toot your horn! Your blog offended a bot! I wonder if the bot was written in a new programming language called Code of Conduct.

  5. harish says:

    Don’t know how much of an imfluence that Advani badge had on all this. apashakuna adu.

  6. Malaveeka says:

    did you use this title before?

    Also, did this happen to you before.

    I have a really strong feeling of deja vu.

    • wanderlust says:

      yeah. it did happen before. because i had a splog. i have linked it also on this blog entry. ctrl-F ‘last time’ without the quotes. that title was wordpressed, depressed and used my real name.

  7. Pingback: The WordPress Terms of Service, Explained. « #law tag

  8. Matt says:

    Hi, I’m the founder of Automattic and WordPress.com.

    We screwed up here, doubly so that your blog got mistakenly hit again and again.

Leave a Reply

