Correlation… causation? Coincidence!


I’m back to blogging, but only for a bit. Next week is a bit hectic. But I HAD to post on this.

When I was working in Bangalore, I was in a team full of young people just a few years older than me. They were much more experienced, and I, the only fresher, moved from module to module learning what each bit did. And it always, always happened that just as I moved to a new thing, the person handling that module would get their wedding fixed and would go off for a month, leaving me to work on that module.

There were the usual jokes about my being some hex or something, but it was mostly attributed to the common age group of all my mentors, and a week of holidaying following the end of each iteration, following which my colleagues would go home, and be subjected to a week of bride/groom-seeing.

And now the saga continues.

The person I am working with is an alumnus of University X. And has a wife who is expecting.
The person I might be working with, completely totally unrelated to the previously mentioned person, and of a completely different age group, is an alumnus of University X, though in a totally different mostly unrelated discipline. And has a wife who is expecting.

PS: I know such coincidences are everywhere, that if you look hard enough, you can find the shape of a holy grail on the Boston, Detroit, Washington DC, Chennai, Surathkal, Bangalore maps, so don’t make that point in the comments.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Attempts at Humour, Priya's Travails, this and that, too long to twitter, too short to blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Correlation… causation? Coincidence!

  1. schroedinbugger says:

    It is not coincidence, ma’am. You are but an explicit typecast (no, not in the meaning of stereotyping). You convert variables you work with to double 😛

Leave a Reply

