December Roundup


December 2009 shall be memorable for:

  • My going at the rate of one movie a day sans television. Previous posts will attest that I am no fan of watching movies on my laptop.
  • Learner’s Permit
  • Four independent bits of good news that got me thinkin’, dreamin’, hopin’ plannin’ for fifth and sixth bits.
  • A couple of very entertaining mix-ups.
  • Two polar extreme extreme points of views from two people who were classmates, and holding my ground in the face of both.
  • First glimpse of snow.
  • Discovering Rick Riordan. (Go ahead and click the link. It’s not Rick Astley. Godpromise.)
  • Getting back in touch with longlost kin.
  • Christmas lights and snow and ice.
  • Increasing my count of American states visited to two. And so far, CA Rocks.
  • Finding I’m not so bad with little kids after all. And that I rather like Lego and jigsaw puzzles that I’m now seriously wondering about restarting collecting both.
  • My getting interested in Rubik’s Cubes.
  • It’s not so bad being called Aunty. It anyday beats being asked ‘So…. which grade are you in?’. (I induced a strong look of confusion when I replied “Er… 17th?”)
  • Kids say the darndest things.
  • Watching an Indian-American kid drink water and eat sugar after a mouthful of mildly spiced pulao, and saying “You can’t leave now! Have atleast some of the Chettinad-style karakozhambu!”.
  • Chasing Jesus Christ and Bugs Bunny for a picture.
  • Discovering the effects of rapidly changing skin product brands on skin and hair, and watching months of maintenance go down the drain. Literally.
  • Discovering the effects of sinfully spicy self-made cranberry pickle on skin.
  • Losing my favourite comb and having two consecutive bad-hair days.
  • Rather liking impulsively planned trips.
  • Not regretting impulsive shopping sprees.
  • Getting awesome clothes shopping tips from an Afghan-Iraqi-Paki woman.
  • Life lessons yet again.
  • #chetanblocks

Happy New Year, folks.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in this and that and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December Roundup

  1. schroedinbugger says:

    1. Learner’s permit: congrats; I’ve been procrastinating over a year and am still yet to do it.
    2. Ah, the state count statistics made it 🙂
    3. The aunty call! There’s a whole new dimension when it happens within the family, and to be called maami/chithi/periyamma etc. I wait for, but dread the day of my uncle call.
    4. Cranberry pickle? I’m lost for words…
    5. Impulsiveness – for me, personally, it has come as the reflection of “free country” fundaes. I’m curious what your thoughts are on this.

    • wanderlust says:

      3. i’ve just begun to get used to the ‘chithi’ call. it’s not so bad when it’s used in sentences like ‘you’re the bestest chithi i have!’.
      4. some ingenious folks use cranberries as a substitute for tamarind in rasam. try it sometime 🙂
      5. for me, impulsiveness is still impulsiveness, maybe something more on a personal level… but it isn’t tied to freedom on a national level.

Leave a Reply

