OC Woman – Movies, Mining, Melatonin, Madness


Cheesy, wasn’t that? Let me get done with the last three first.

The coursework has been heavy, rather heavy. Thankfully not the sort that drains you of all joie de vivre, and leaves you with no satisfaction. Had enough of that last year. It’s fun trying to predict which words in a given Wiki article will be linked. It however is the cause of much irrational behaviour, much swearing and cursing and disturbed sleep-wake cycles. And much reduced blogging.Which leads to much insanity. It seems to me like I need a regular brain dump, some sort of an activity where I work at channeling my thoughts into something comprehensible by others., much emphasis on the word ‘work’ here. Given a quarter as crazy as this one, it becomes extremely easy to lose touch with other human beings and drown in your own little world.

And now for the movies. I’m thankfully not gleaning my only perceptions of reality from the movies I watch. Because if I did, I would probably despise men more than the stuff I generally despise. The last two movies I watched were Avargal and An Education. Both with swines for lead male characters.

You will totally totally hate Rajinikanth after watching him in Avargal. And you will also never, ever again question his acting ability.

And after I watched An Education, I was seized by the urge to make every young girl I know watch this movie and say in a Judi Denchish way, ‘And that, my dear, is why you should complete your studies’. The main reason is, I’ve in the past met a few girls aged about 14 or 15 whose parents want them to scale greater and greater professional heights, while they self-admittedly boast that they don’t see the point of an education and that they’d rather marry rich and settle down to a lifetime of shopping. *Shudder* Scary!

I also finally watched Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya. I liked it better than Vaaranam Aayiram.

I wanted to write a post detailing, comparing and contrasting the characters of Anu in Avargal, Jessie in Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya, and Jenny from An Education. I couldn’t as I was caught up with other things, and l guess the moment is past, when I’m inspired enough to write that post. I could of course try during my spring break, but it won’t come out as well as it would have last weekend.

Daylight Savings Time strikes in half an hour. I’ll need to sleep early tonight.

*OC s an acronym for California’s Orange County. It is also an acronym for Others’ Cost.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to OC Woman – Movies, Mining, Melatonin, Madness

  1. S says:

    Ah, good to see you blogging again after a while.

    I sort-of wanted to watch An Education, just because I’m a Doctor Who fan and Sally SparrowCarey Mulligan is the star of its best episode in recent times. :p Is it bearable? Does it have enough of her?

    • S says:

      Ok, WordPress ate the strikethrough (<s>) tag around “Sally Sparrow”. Add it back if you can, please. 🙂 (BTW, what did you mean by “self-admittedly boast”?)

    • wanderlust says:

      yes. it has a lot of Carey Mulligan. It’s mostly about her. It’s a good watch. If you like, check out the piece it was based on. Unless you want to watch the movie with an untainted-by-the-ending mind.

      • S says:

        Ah yes. I just watched the movie with an untainted-by-the-ending mind :p, and you’re right it was a good watch, so thanks, and thanks also for the link which I just read. 🙂

  2. Srikanth says:

    Just to be picky….. “Daylight Savings Time” is incorrect. It should be “Daylight Saving Time” 🙂

    • wanderlust says:

      @srikanth and s,
      apologies for the bad grammar. Thanks for the pickiness. It brings back the grammar nazi in me, a side i’d almost come to forget.
      and no, this is not sarcasm.

  3. Vinay Keerthi says:

    Hey Priya!
    Remember me? 😛 IT’s been a loooooooong time!

  4. Jessie in VTV is quite a character, isn’t she?

    • wanderlust says:

      Yeah, she is! her wavering uncertainity is something i totally identify with. the other characters in the movie might be stereotypes and all that, but she is so so so real, so so well-etched.

Leave a Reply

