Paanch


No, not the most-watched yet-unreleased movie by Anurag Kashyap starring Tejaswini Kolhapure and Kay Kay Menon.

It’s time for the annual self-congratulatory pat on the back, for not giving up on this venture for 365 additional days. Yes, The NITK Numbskulls Page completes another year of its existence, and yes, as the title suggests, this page has been going strong for half a decade now. For perspective, I have a cousin younger than that. And if I had begun work on my doctoral dissertation when I started this blog, I might have possibly been graduating or been cursing myself for not. Five years can change a stripling out of school to a full-fledged medical doctor. In five years, you can build a site to be as popular as Youtube. If I had been convicted of certain crimes when I started this blog, I might have been free today.

So while not being so dramatic, five years have certainly made me a different person; I can’t be eighteen forever. I used to be aimless, clueless, and without a plan back then. Now too, I’m aimless, clueless, and without a concrete plan, only more informedly educatedly so. My grammar is better, I’m less lenient with people who are wrong on the Internet, I’m less tolerant of a lot of things. Surprisingly, I’m also more idealistic now as compared to before, less cynical, and don’t fight all the battles that come my way.

I don’t know what more to say which I have not said on this day over the past four years. I wish I could write a flippant ‘I’m turning five!” post where I crack my choicest jokes and make it look effortless, but I guess I take this page more seriously than I should. As the years go by, I feel this place grow closer and closer to my heart. It has been the focal point of my entire online existence for this period. It has been where I have corrected my tending towards smsLingo. It has been where I have expressed myself fully, completely. I have met many delightful people just through this blog.

This page has aided me in my journey of self-discovery. (But heck, what has not?)

So what has our fifth year wrought? Sea-changes in life and living, for sure.ย  Being plagiarized by Bangalore Mirror. Twice. And being flagged by some new WordPress spamfiltering algo as Spam. And when I blogged about it, Matt of WordPress fame commented on it. My posts have been more personal, less about movies and music and books, or so I feel. I haven’t given this blog as much time this year as I did last year, and am glad I’m using my time more productively. Sort of, atleast. For example, I just hastily scribbled this post to get back to coding, while in previous years I did spend an hour writing it and feeling all the nostalgia.

Weirdly, it was being plagiarized that made me wonder what writing here meant to me. Even two years back, I’d’ve been game to my content being published elsewhere. Now it’s not just privacy concerns and control-over-content concerns that make me more possessive about my content. I am disillusioned when it comes to the media now than then. And I know the extent of energy and thought I put into each word here that I can simply not see someone else reap the benefits of my hard work. And there’s more of that self-important drivel where that came from, but I’ll let it pass.

My other attempts at blogging haven’t gone so well, neither in terms of reach or content. Which leads me to believe that blogging success comes only from lavishing time on a blog.

Where am I going with this? Well, there’s this novel I’ve always wanted to write. Except that I am horrible with fiction. Maybe I’ll be bold enough to present my babystep short stories here, get feedback, and then maybe gain enough confidence to put in effort at something longer?

Till then, I’m content keeping this place what it is – thought receptacle, insanity preventer, good listener and shining example to convince myself I am not that distracted, I mean, I can’t be, I can keep things going for five years and more, right?

And readers. Thanks for reading, thanks for commenting, thanks for sharing, thanks for noticing when my blog disappeared off the Internet, thanks for all the support when I blogged about being plagiarized.

And as always, I thank Goddess Saraswati for all that bestowed on me and pray for more of the same thing, or maybe something different… oh, I needn’t bother… She knows what’s best for me.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Reading, we us, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Paanch

  1. you stole my theme ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. harish says:

    Congratulationsu. Heege bareetiri. What a fine blog this has been! Thank you for all the wondraful posts you have given us.

    ” oh, I neednโ€™t botherโ€ฆ She knows whatโ€™s best for me” –
    Aa concluding lines of your post can trigger a heated debate between those who advocate free will and those who fervently believe in destiny and the absolute non-existence of anything called free-will.

  3. Arjun says:

    Congrats! Five years frolic maaDidira. Maadi. Shabash.

    I assume you ignored Harish’s bit about free will and destiny and shit. Le Harisha, illu shuru-na?

  4. Malaveeka says:

    Congrats! Your blog is now officially a brat. It can go to a store, sit on the floor and yell.

    I look forward to that post.

    Love your blog and all that.

  5. Chethan B says:

    short stories coming soon? wow! can’t wait.. i have never read any short story where writer is the only character in it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    On a more serious note, it’s always a real treat to visit this blog.. thanks for that.. and its so well-maintained that you ppl can put up a banner saying “kai mugidhu oLagae ba” or something ๐Ÿ™‚ great going.. keep posting ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Logik says:

    That Paanch was a wacky movie, almost irreverent to the audience, meri-marzi type direction. Loved it.

    Congrats on the fifth “happy birthday”.
    To five more and then some more ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. S says:

    Congratulations. ๐Ÿ™‚ And may it go on for many more years.

    Switching to offtopic commentsโ€ฆ
    Something you said made me wonder about whether one can be free of one’s convictions in five years. Guess we can.

    Re. novel โ€”ย I encourage you, but you know what they say: “Every person has a novel inside them.
    And that’s an excellent place for it, too.”

    Re. not fighting every battle (which is great!), I feel tempted to quote a poem by Dorothy Parker, whom I’ve been trying to inflict on everyone:

    The Veteran

    When I was young and bold and strong,
    Oh, right was right, and wrong was wrong!
    My plume on high, my flag unfurled,
    I rode away to right the world.
    โ€œCome out, you dogs, and fight!โ€ said I,
    And wept there was but once to die.

    But I am old; and good and bad
    Are woven in a crazy plaid.
    I sit and say, โ€œThe world is so;
    And he is wise who lets it go.
    A battle lost, a battle wonโ€”
    The difference is small, my son.โ€

    Inertia rides and riddles me;
    The which is called Philosophy.

  8. shiny says:

    Congrats! I have really enjoyed most of your posts and can quite easily relate to them ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your writing. Great blogging! Looking forward to more.

    Cheers!

  9. DON says:

    Congratulations!
    Awesome job! Keep it up! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Karthik says:

    Congratulations. Given the monumental effort that the upkeep of a healthy blog requires, (kills you with bug-bites, eh?) this is amazing, really.

    Disillusionment with the media is probably a helpful thing to experience in the long run. (I’m reminded of something Douglas Adams said shortly before his death: “What concerns me is that we have got into the dangerous habit of believing what we read in the newspapers or see on the TV — a mistake that no one who has met an actual journalist would ever make”)

    (Took a break from lurking to put in the word.)

  11. A Cynic in Wonderland says:

    Congratulations on the five. Its kind of surreal sometimes isnt it ( i have managed six) – the blog reflects your life through changing lifestages and age and thoughts and what nots. Good way to map it i suppose..

    • wanderlust says:

      you’re right about the mapping.
      turns out twitter is a better way. it chronicles life more ‘as it happens’. and people tend to be more honest on twitter than on blogs. coz they don’t think and tweet, such that they can dress up incidents to suit their persona, etc.

  12. Siri says:

    Congratulations lady!

    Happy Birthday Blog!

    May there be many, many more ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Arjun says:

    Your blog is changing templates faster than Shivraj Patil can change costumes.

  14. Pingback: Irredeemable – A Review of Anurag Kashyap’s Paanch « The NITK Numbskulls Page

Leave a Reply

