Halfway ’round the world


Yeah, so I’m back at school. For atleast a year more. Lots of things to look forward to, lots to do, and all that.

I had a good flight back, mainly because I made sure to specify my meal preferences and stay awake during mealtimes so that I’m not overlooked when they come by serving the Ind-Veg maincourse. Ideally, a good flight should pass without incident, but turns out you can have an even better flight when things happen, as long as they are not happening to you πŸ™‚

Waiting Room
So at Immigration in Bangalore, I was stuck in the slowest possible queue there was. I was made repeatedly aware of this fact by the gentleman behind me, who had a flight in twenty minutes, and still had to clear Immigration and Security. Expectedly, he was shifty and whiny. It turned out that the reason for the slowness was this lady who was just not being cleared by the guy at the counter. Ten minutes later, I was at the counter, and the gentleman behind me had long gone as he shifted to another queue.
I saw the lady later and asked her just why had they held her up for so long. She said she was a diabetologist. And the guy at the counter was a diabetic. And kept shoving his prescriptions into her face, asking if she could recommend some tests, and if the medicines he was taking now were fine.

Really now, are people that unprofessional? Bah!

Innanga… anyaayama irukku…
I had to transit at Singapore. Turned out, all the security officers there were bantering away in Tamil. Including this ethnic Chinese woman. No hint of a Chinese accent, no nothing. I was so wide-eyed with wonder, I said “Innanga, anyaayama irukku, Tamizhnaat-lendhu 40 mile thaLLi vaLandha enna vida Tamizhnaatukku sammandhame illandha neenga arumeya Tamizh pesareenga”. [Translated: It’s so unfair, you who has no connection with Tamil Nadu speaks better Tamil than me who has been raised 40 miles from TN]. And then added that it’ll be impossible to tell her apart in Chennai. To which this other security officer said ‘Even by her looks?’. To which I replied there should be some or the other opening for a funny motormouth in a Chennai radio station.

On an aside, it was absolutely surprising to see security officers smiling and talking and… laughing!

A couple of eyesores
So right from Singapore till Los Angeles, there was this canoodling couple in the seats behind mine. I wondered why they had two seats, when they were in fact occupying only one. Everywhere. Right from transit at Singapore and Tokyo to Baggage Claim at Los Angeles. Only one seat.
I wouldn’t have noticed ordinarily, but keeping myself from being dehydrated meant a lot of fluids consumed which meant a lot of trips up and down the aisle. And all the sleeping and movie-watching meant my hair’d get messed up and I needed to tie it back each time else I’d get a headache.
You know what pissed me off about the whole thing? I seemed to be running a comb through my hair atleast once every three hours, and not once, not once did I see that lady’s hairdo messed up.

ウォシγƒ₯γƒ¬γƒƒγƒˆ,
This Wiki article is NOT kidding. NOT.

God Tumhe Shanti De
This Catholic priest was seated next to me for the long leg of my trip. I’m very very very surprised I never brought up religion. And even more surprised that he didn’t, either. Even while mentioning terrorism during the course of the long conversations we had when I was not fast asleep or watching a movie.
Of course, in the last couple of hours he did mention that he was saddened that while the US calls itself a Christian country(?!), its citizens want to take religion out of everywhere, and that it is tragic that you can’t mention Jesus even if it’s a Catholic school you’re teaching in. I uncharacteristically let these observation pass, uncountered.

Hello Kitty World
The whole of Japan (or, rather, Narita Airport) seems to be some weird sort of Hello Kitty kinda world. Everything is ‘cute’, and I mean this in a weirded out sense. It’s like everything is trying to be something else, something cuter, something more likeable. I don’t know what makes me say this, maybe the weird hair colours, or the colours of every packaged product, or the Japanese script, or an overdose of articles like the ones here. Guess it’s the last one.

Anyway. All that action (and dragging along my luggage) has me tired. Should have some calm before the storm, let me hit the pillow.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in too long to twitter, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halfway ’round the world

  1. Supreeth says:

    2things.
    1. Had a similar experience with a Padre on a train once. They never seem to bring up Religion. All I can remember was that he was mortified by the second half of Gajini and we had to turn it off to play antakshari instead. Yes, antakshari.
    2. Do the Japenese screw up their eyes when they smile like in manga? Also how big are their mouths really?

    • wanderlust says:

      1. why mortified by Ghajini? what was in it? i can understand if he was mortified by Phoonk or something, but Ghajini?
      2. oh no one ‘smiled’ at me. they bowed, and i bowed back, and didn’t catch sight of their eyes while smiling. i didn’t observe their mouths (why do you ask, really?) but i have no reason to believe they are not normal-sized.

  2. Chethan B says:

    πŸ™‚ also, japan|cracked.com is fun πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Open Letter To Aroon Purie « The NITK Numbskulls Page

Leave a Reply

