I ♥ Movies


I used to be a majorleague movie buff at one point of time. It almost seemed like no movie would release in Hindi, Kannada and Tamil, and to some extent, English, without my knowledge. Mind you, this was in the pre-Internet days, which meant I basically scoured MTV and Channel [V] and Sun TV and Udaya TV to insane extents. While also scouring the filmi news reported in Deccan Herald, Indian Express and, heh, ToI, apart from The Week, India Today and on occasion, The Hindu. I was too snobbish to read Filmfare and Stardust back then.

And then NITK happened, and I lost the TV habit, and there was no LAN or unlimited Internet my first two years to keep my movie habit going.

I used to think it was no big loss, because “the recent movies are all utter manure”. But that is totally not true… pop culture of an earlier era always seems godawesome because you forget about all the crap and only the awesome stuff remains burnt to memory. And I watched enough junk – Aarzoo, Mr. and Mrs. Khiladi, Zulmi, Zor, Yeh Tera Ghar Yeh Mera Ghar, Hum Saath Saath Hain were just some of the many repressed memories of utterly idiotic fare I indulged in back then. Oh, and the next time anyone calls Aamir Khar Mr. Perfectionist, they deserve to be subjected to Mela and 1947-Earth back to back.

I watched a lot of movies in third and final year, but those were more of random picks than any actual craze for cinema. Including the first day first show watch of Om Shanti Om. And in college, watching movies was something you did because it was there on an overfull LAN, not because you are fascinated by the trailer or anything. Accessing everything on the Internet has its pitfalls – your allergy for advertisements means that you don’t see anything you don’t explicitly want to see – including new stuff. Unless someone or the other recommends it to you.

Naturally, I am stuck in a ’92-Early’00s pop culture loop. And don’t really try to get out.

I wasn’t too aware of all the stuff I’ve written so far until late this afternoon. I came across the trailer for Vishal Bharadwaj’s 7 Khoon Maaf. Watch it yourself:

Don’t you feel the flesh creep a little? Especially at the ‘Darrrrlingggg’? The gentle, understated change from ‘Husband’ to ‘7 Husbands’ piqued your curiosity, didn’t it? And John Abraham in drag… that makes you want to watch the movie just to know what the heck is up with that, doesn’t it?

After a really long time, I’m all fired up about a movie. About a Hindi movie…. I was suitably fired up about Shutter Island. So much that I think when I finally stream this movie, it’ll be something I actually make time for, not something I just look for on a boring weekend evening.

I am intrigued by the presence of Usha Uthup as well. She was nothing short of perfect as Madhavan’s snide mom in Manmadhan Ambu. And here, as a loyal housekeeper who won’t stop short of murder, I’m dying to watch her in it.

Most reviews seem to be dissing the movie. I don’t much care about it being macabre… that’s the point of such a flick – being a black comedy it’s supposed to present gruesome acts in a cute, sympathetic way that the juxtaposition shocks you. One review however got me down… it said the flick could have been so, so much more, and that Priyanka Chopra’s character is never explored much. *Sigh*

I guess this will turn out to be a colossal disappointment much like 90% of the movies I’ve waited for with bated breath. The most colossal disappointment I’ve had is Hey Ram. God the pre-release hype! Especially when it’s a bilingual, especially when the tags for the movie would be Gandhi, Independence, Partition, Kamal Haasan, Ilaiyaraja, Shah Rukh Khan, Kavignar Vaali, Hema Malini, Rani Mukherjee, Godse, Religious Riots, Kamal Haasan’s directorial debut, Kissing, and apart from all that, a very Iyengar-looking Bangalore girl (from MCC, no less) in the lead role hyped it extremely for me. The trailers, the music were all totally something. And then finally watching it…. god, what a damp squib. In the words of my aunt, “Tamizhum, Hindi-yum, Bengali-yum kalandhu onnume puriyala…. illa, onnu mattum purinjadu – Kamal thaan hero-nu“. [In the unholy mix that was the arbit usage of Hindi, Tamil and Bengali, all I could grasp was that Kamal was the hero].

But, you know what, I’d probably not care much if it did turn out to be a bad movie. I consider every movie an experience by itself. You don’t gain much from watching a bad movie, yes, but then, you don’t gain much by watching a good movie either. At max, watching movies opens up your imagination. Normally we’d all have super unconstrained imaginations, but given the barrage of movies, television and other media, we sort of begin thinking in a constrained way, and to keep it rich and vivid and active, we need to load up on as much information and as many narrative styles as we can manage.

Or maybe, I watch movies with the hope that something in them will be able to help me bring together all the little blips of inspired storytelling that flash to me at the randomest of times, into a coherent story. And each time I watch a bad movie, there’s already a framework for me to think in, and armchair filmmaking, whining about how this scene could have had ten times the impact if only this actor had done that and the other actor had done this, is a good enough starting point.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in movies, too long to twitter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I ♥ Movies

  1. Swaroop says:

    Ayyayo! Samma disappointed with your opinion on Hey Ram! It’s a kind which you can show it as a wonderful piece of indian cinema. Minute details gone into the movie – from a simple switch to almost a complete iyengar goshti for madras episode. Is it the usage of 4 languages that bothered you? 😀

    And coming to usha uthup, I watched manmadhan ambu just for kamal and usha uthup.

    Eagerly waiting to watch this susanna.

    • wanderlust says:

      i watched it a year or so back, it’s an okay movie, but too contrived in some places. that iyengar goshti bit, i really liked. perfectest bit of the movie. four languages is a bit bothersome coz had to context-switch quite some. sure it’s natural and all, but i’m not used to movies like that. i can’t deny kamal has tried making the movie as perfect and accurate as possible, but a lot of it makes it harder to follow the story.

      and usha uthup… my god, that understated witchiness. no words. especially since i do know people like that, with those left-handed compliments and all…. like the scene where she’s watching trisha’s shooting and says ‘censor-la eduthuduvaanga, la?”.

  2. Varun says:

    For the benefit of all the readers of this blog

    for the people with 80s (senti)mentality this might be NSFW

  3. Malaveeka says:

    If you stayed in India and were subject to the countless appearances of Priyanka and the trailer running over and over, you wouldn’t wait for 7 khoon maaf. Quite the opposite actually.

    As a principle, I never look forward to John Abraham in anything. He’s so terrible.

    I’m not looking forward to this movie. Fie on overexposure.

    • wanderlust says:

      you haven’t seen overexposure until you’ve tuned in to Sun TV or KTV. even the most rannnndom film produced by dayanidhi maran will have its ad up twice every adbreak. god i was sooooo tired of the enthiran promos. killed all my enthu for the movie.
      can empathize with the overexposure fatigue.

      and yes, john abraham can’t act and can’t even deliver dialogue well. And he then does videos like this. ew at the wings.

Leave a Reply

