CS-boom-de-ah-dah OR I Love Computer Science.


So I chanced up on this Youtube vid of Discovery Channel’s ‘The World is Awesome’.  XKCD had its own lyrics to it. Someone (actually many someones) made videos of it. Given that the original is a camping song called I love the mountains or Boom-de-ah-da, it’s the sort of song to which you MUST add your own lyrics and sing it either while going on a long bus trip or around the campfire. Somewhat like Suraaaaaangani  – no one remembers the original lyrics, so everyone makes up stuff, chorusing only on the ‘maalu maalu maalu‘ bits.

And so I came up with ComputerSciencey words to the original tune. Given that this is all off the top of my head, I’ve not animated it or cartoon’d it (though I have vivid images in my head of what could be done), though I’d be delighted if someone did that and raised me to XKCD-level kvlt-ness.

Here goes. Additions, corrections, animations are all welcome.

I love regression
I love the Bayesian Nets
I love SVMs
I love the convex sets
I love the whole world
And all the ways to learn
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada

I love XML
I love DBMS
I love big data
I love Open Access
I love the whole world
And all the data tombs
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada

I love all fractals
I like combinatorics
I love upperbounds
I love a sort that’s quick
I love the whole world
So much complexity
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada

I love wired networks
And data on the cloud
I love peer-to-peer
And speeds in gigabaud
I love the whole world
So much connectedness
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada
Boom-de-yada Boom-de-yada

I’m actually seeing in my head the faces of profs and grad students and labs which could be singing this, possibly in an ad for the Compsci department of some university.

There, my nerd-cred and nerd-karma quotas for life are fulfilled.

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in Attempts at Humour, geek, too long to twitter, too short to blog, UCI, verse, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CS-boom-de-ah-dah OR I Love Computer Science.

  1. Shiny says:

    Hey Nice one! But it seems a little too web/data-mining oriented except the 3rd stanza 😛 May be it can be more generic to CS. (including some OS, data structures, architecture, programming etc).

    Btw, I remember ‘The world is awesome’ videos were also just too awesome. And yeah, your CS version also conjures up some pretty cool pictures in my mind 🙂

    Aside from that, it would be pretty cool to have a CS song for the Llama duck tune as well 😀 that’ll definitely be fun 🙂

  2. Shiny says:

    Hey, I like your CS version, just that it’s a bit too biased (unsurprisingly) towards web/data-mining except probably stanza 3 😛 May be it needs a touch of OS, data structures, architecture and programming to give it a generic CS feel.

    I also remember I really enjoyed the videos that discovery had put out with ‘The World is awesome’. I guess yours also conjures up nice images in my mind 🙂 And I can totally imagine the part where profs and students of a university go about singing the song 😀

    Aside from this, I think there should also be a CS version to the Llama duck song. That’ll be fun 🙂

    • wanderlust says:

      that’s the problem, i don’t know anything about computer science apart from the small bit i’m going through. i’ll be glad if you could come up with OS, data structures, architecture, compilers, and other things. it’s a campfire song, so everyone makes up their own words. 🙂 i tried and tried, but coming up with stuff for networks and theory itself was slighta hard for me….. i totally dont fulfil the breadth requirement 😛

      what’s the llama duck song? i’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

