Published in a real magazine!


Well, just the online version. But here it is: English Gave My Generation A Voice  in Swarajya Magazine. It’s where I respond to a piece in New York Times by Aatish Taseer, titled How English Ruined Indian Literature.

I like how it turned out, but I also felt 1500 words was too short for any real nuance on a very emotive topic, but heck, people get famous publishing things way less nuanced. At the very least, if the comments section is anything to go by, it’s started a conversation.

Finally I have gotten published of my own free will, and not as usual where two-bit newspapers lift my blogposts without my permission 🙂

 

About wanderlust

just your average books-and-music person who wants to change the world.
This entry was posted in analysis, Rants, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Published in a real magazine!

  1. Karthik says:

    It’s eerie how much your situation has in common with Steven Levy’s.

    And maybe the solution does involve, as Levy puts it, some “great artificial intelligence” to assess what notifications get through to you and what don’t. A supercharged version of Priority Inbox. And if you work a job that can “go cold” in hours, there’s no getting past it.

    I took a different approach to this problem around 2011, though. Ringing phones always made me acutely uncomfortable, and I decided to terminate my association with a mobile phone as soon as circumstances allowed. This has had the expected repercussions, like needing to etch plans in stone before leaving the house*. But considering I don’t have steady Internet access outdoors or indoors for most of the day, I’ve also missed the shift that online culture has made towards immediacy (in both time and geography). The list of things I’m not a part of keeps growing; now the entire sharing app ecosystem is on it. To most old friends, I’ve pretty much dropped off the face of the earth.

    This nonchalance towards the gushing fire hose of content works for me, but it does mean participating in topical Reddit threads or Twitter conversations is pretty much out of the question. More generally, I arrive days or weeks late at dead comment threads with something to finally say… then grumble and move on.

    In exchange, I suppose I regained the ability to read a book for hours on the bus, something I lost around 2006. So it’s a pretty scorched earth, baby-with-the-bathwater response to keeping up with things, but it’s where things are at.

    *(I recently discovered people have developed the superpower to summon taxis from nowhere!)

Leave a Reply

